21-Day Challenge

3 Weeks to Improve your Energy Levels

21-Day Challenge-Day 1

on December 30, 2011

This is where you will post about your day’s activities for this new challenge beginning January 9.  I will email you and post on here details as to what each day’s workout, eating will entail.  Don’t worry I’ll give you a heads up, and send you several day’s worth of details so you can plan ahead.  I’m so excited to begin this journey for the next 3 weeks.  Hold on tight, it goes fast!  I hope at the end of this you are feeling better and have more energy!

I am going to encourage you to take this challenge seriously, put every effort into learning and trying to change your habits to healthier ones.  I guarantee if you put in the effort, you will notice a difference.  With that said, I’m not normally a person to push products on you, but I would highly suggest doing this Intestinal cleanse as part of this challenge.  You can read more about it and order the product here: www.healthfree.com.   I would recommend following the dosage advised, and only starting out with 1 capsule a day.  My experience has been to take it at night after eating dinner.  Note: the first few days you will really be ‘cleansing’ your system…

If you have any other questions, please email me or Facebook message me.  I hope I can help.

 

***Edit:  Please let me know what you are choosing to eliminate from your diet this challenge, post a comment below.  Also, like I mentioned in the email, if this food is really a problem for you, you might experience a die-off or withdrawal symptoms (flu-like) as the food is eliminated from your body.  This is a good thing if you will let it happen.  I would suggest taking a multi-vitamin if you are not, and adding fish oil or flaxseed oil supplements to your daily regimen, and even some zinc and/or vitamin c.  Your immune system may take a ‘dip’ as this process is occurring initially.  So we want to try to maintain it while our system is cleansing.

If you are shopping today, here are some of my favorite items for wheat/gluten-free…anyone else feel free to recommend products.

Granola Recipe: (I haven’t tried this one yet, so anxious to see how it tastes)

5 cup oats (please make sure they are certified gluten-free)
2 cups coarsely chopped almonds
1 cup pumpkin seeds
3/4 cup sesame seeds
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 1/2 cups mixed dried fruit (we used apricots, sour cherries, and golden raisins here)
3/4 cup maple syrup
2 tablespoons canola or other vegetable oil

Preheat the oven to 350°.

Mix together the oats, almonds, pumpkin seeds, and sesame seeds. Make sure you use a large baking sheet or roasting pan for this. (I prefer the roasting pan, because you can really swirl around those ingredients without spilling them on the floor.) Sprinkle the cinnamon, ginger, and salt over the top. Stir it up.

Toss the bite-sized pieces of dried fruit over the top of the oats mixture. To be honest, you might want more than 1 1/2 cups here. I kept throwing more on until about 1/2 of the surface of the oats had fruit on it. Use your own judgment here. Stir it all up.

Drizzle the maple syrup evenly over the surface of the oats mixture. Do the same with the oil. Stir it all up until everything is well coated — not too sticky, but not dry either. Done? Great. Throw it in the oven.

Bake for 12 minutes, then stir up the granola-in-the-making, then put the pan back in the oven. Repeat this process three more times (it could twice or four times for you, depending on your oven). You’re looking for the granola to be not-at-all wet, golden brown, with a bit of crunch.

Pull it out of the oven and let it cool before devouring it.

Makes 10 cups or so.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For dairy-free products, try:  Crescent rolls are non-dairy, so are oreo cookies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For sugar-free, try:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found some great recipe suggestions while I was there:

http://www.lundberg.com/products/syrup/Eco-Farmed_Sweet_Dreams%C2%AE_Brown_Rice_Syrup.aspx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coconut oil is really good too

 

19 responses to “21-Day Challenge-Day 1

  1. Carisa says:

    I will be doing all three! I’m already gluten and dairy free, so I will be focused on the sugars.

  2. Lindy says:

    I will also be focusing on the sugars…..yikes!! Will need LOTS of suggestions as I do NOT tolerate any artificial sweeteners. Thanks!

    • AmWoods says:

      You should invest in some brown rice syrup, it’s my favorite sugar substitute…I use it for most of my baking, etc. It’s a combination of honey and maple syrup-taste, I guess. You use 1 1/4 c. of brown rice syrup in place of 1 cup of sugar, then you use 1/4 less of another liquid in the recipe. I like using it better than honey. I buy Lundberg brand from Dillon’s, it’s in the Organic section. I’m not a coffee drinker, so I don’t have suggestions for sugar-replacements in drinks…anyone else have a good idea, other than sweeteners?

      • Carisa says:

        I’ve been using almond or coconut milk when I have coffee. I know So Delicious makes a coffee creamer that’s coconut based and I think it is sweetened with cane juice. Otherwise, a couple drops of stevia should work perfectly.

      • Melissa says:

        I like vanilla almond milk in my coffee? not sure how much sugar is in that, i will have to look. I know it is waaaayyyy less than flavored creamers and gives the same vibe! Plain almond milk is ok too.

  3. Lynette says:

    I’m going to work on sugars and dairy. Just wish I had the time and drive to research new recipes! Maybe this will help.

    • AmWoods says:

      Vogt’s sells Almond milk now, in the fridge section. Rice milk is located across from the beans aisle near the deli…it’s up high above the protein bars. Both are good. I mix them. Coconut milk is another good alternative, I like the chocolate version. The kids drink it too.

  4. Jessica says:

    Uuuggghhh!!!! No sugars for me!

    • AmWoods says:

      You can do it. You will be amazed at how you feel after you reduce your intake..although you may have withdrawals the first day or two, depending on how much sugar you consume on a daily basis 🙂

  5. LaDonna says:

    Gluten free for me!

  6. Melissa says:

    Will go all dairy free (am mostly now anyway, but need to be more strict on that). Will try to eliminate gluten for a trial and see how I fee. Also will eliminate sugar. I don’t think I have any yeast issues, but definatly have a too much sugar problem!!!! Am on vacation later this week and will be traveling so that will be difficulty, but will force me to bring healthy snacks and avoid junk!!!

  7. Brandi says:

    I will be focusing on no sugar. Not sure I can completely cut out the others, but will cut down on them.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I will be eliminating sugar which will be extremely hard for me. Sugar is my weakness. Since I received the email about choosing a food to eliminate, I started paying more attention to how much sugar I actually eat. It’s in about everything I eat. I’m getting rid of the Christmas candy tonight. Wish me luck!

  9. Joy says:

    I’m eliminating sugar!

  10. AmWoods says:

    So glad to hear from you all. You can do this. Those of you who have done this challenge before, know it can be done, and know how much better you feel by the end. Those of you who are doing this the first time, stick with it, it will be worth it in the end! I’m so glad to see the choices you all are making. Here we go!!

  11. savy76 says:

    I will be eliminating sugars/wheat products. Will continue to limit dairy — not much of a milk drinker anyway and not much of a dairy person, except for low-fat cottage cheese/cheese and the occasional scoop of ice cream. I don’t eat a lot of dairy anyway, but if I get back to making smoothies in the mornings, then my intake of dairy is more. I did purchase almond milk and will try to drink at least one – two glasses everyday.

    Elminating sugar will be the most challenging…I live on sugar :)!

  12. Lindy says:

    First day done…..Randy is cutting back some, too. He made a wonderful batch of granola tonite (similar recipe to yours, Anna). We used honey. Also stocked up on fruit to make smoothies with milk or greek yogurt. Have been used to drinking cranberry juice along with pure black cherry juice for bladder infection prevention and joints(cherry juice ). May have to go to cranberry capsules…but the cherry syrup is pure..no added sugar. Ok to do? Also did 10 reps of the exercises in the 15 minutes. I let you know how getting out of bed goes tomorrow…..:)

Leave a Reply

