21-Day Challenge

3 Weeks to Improve your Energy Levels

Day 3

on January 11, 2012

So now that we are on to Day 3 of the workouts, you are probably sore.  You are adjusting to a new way of eating, most likely.  Cravings might be starting to hit.  Your body is experiencing some changes.  Therefore your body is going through some stress.  Stress is good, actually, to a certain extent.  We want our bodies to experience just enough stress to be able to adapt and adjust without wiping out our energy levels.  This explains why the workout yesterday was quick and today’s workout is slow and heavy.

For one, the first day was more of an endurance type workout.  We set a timer and continued a pattern throughout, fatiguing the slow twitch fibers.  Yesterday we worked the fast-twitch fibers by completing a high-intensity circuit workout of the abdominal muscles.  Short and sweet.  To the point.  Today you will be working your arms in a slow-paced, heavy lifting type of workout.  No speed, no endurance, just brute strength.  You will have worked all parts of your body in different ways, and then will have a day off tomorrow.  This will allow your body to rest and recover–which is perhaps the most important part of preserving energy.  Then you will follow-up the next few days with cardio.  We have fatigued the muscles, they are working to rebuild stronger, calories are burning…then I have the cardiovascular exercise scheduled to help work the lungs and heart, get blood pumping and circulating, and move the ‘sludge’ built up in our sore muscles.

So I say all that to tell you this:  it is important you follow the pattern I have prescribed the workouts in.  Try not to double up on any one day if at all possible.  Try not to skip workouts or do them in a different order.

There is a method to my madness! 🙂  Which type of workout have you enjoyed the most so far?  Tell me about how you are dealing with cravings..

12 responses to “Day 3

  1. AmWoods says:

    I noticed my cravings for sugar are really bad today, not sure why. Probably an accumulation of things, stress, bad time of month, and cutting out grains. Just surprised me, I guess, I keep finding myself in the kitchen looking in the cabinets. I never really grab anything, but just looking, haha. My abs and behind are sore today…felt kind of weak today in my workout–probably need to increase protein and more water..felt really dry and creaky when I woke up this morning 🙂

  2. Carisa says:

    I am freezing today–I know it’s colder outside, but this is beyond that. I’m sure it’s detox. I’ve been eating often…all good things though. We made hummus this morning and that’s been a great protein w/ veggie snack. I’m also drinking warm water with lemon–that really helps curb my sugar cravings.

    We are having pasta tonight. I’m making a homemade sauce so there is no sugar and will be eating mine over zucchini “noodles.”

    I’m going to get some chicken in the crockpot so that I can have some shredded to add to spinach for some lunches.

    As far as workouts go, the pushups today were killer. Might be a stretch to say I enjoyed them 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    I liked day 2 workout the best. It was fast, and I wasn’t wondering if I was going to make it to the end or not.

    As far as cravings go, I have just been snacking a lot (on healthier foods). I’m home a lot during the day, so I have a hard time not snacking. Now, instead of eating Christmas candy, cookies, or other sugar, I’ve been eating food sweetened with honey and coconut sugar. I made a delicious apple crisp yesterday with coconut sugar. I found that it’s not just the sweetness I crave, but also the way it feels to eat it. Chocolate melting in my mouth. Yum. SO, I have just had to snack on foods that are sweet and feel good–like fresh raspberries. Strange, I know.

    I easily ate 20+ pieces of candy, several cookies, and lots of other sugary foods each day. I was so bad that when we ran out of sweets, I would go to the baking cabinet and start on the chocolate chips. I’m pretty sure these last three days have been the only days of my life since starting solid food that I have not had sugar. I feel so much better already. I used to have stomach aches every day because of the amount of junk I ate. Hope I can keep this up!

  4. Krista says:

    I liked the first workout the best, because that was the easiest for me. I am doing ok. I have a cold right now so I am just trying to do the best I can with regard to energy levels. Since I am at work all day, I don’t have time to think about cravings. Being at home is a little harder but I have just not bought sugary stuff, so that my family is also staying more sugar free.

  5. Lindy says:

    The 2 day exercises were my favorite so far…todays were hard on my shoulders…lots of cracking and pain in my right shoulder….think it may be old injuries just rearing their heads from lack of use. My headache finally went away today….after I had a cup of hot tea with a smudge of honey in it. No light headedness today…did eat some nuts when I was craving a snack mid day, and it only took a few and I was ok…..PLUS I was too busy to think about it. Tomorrow will be a challenge as it will be my day off, and with the cold weather I will be hunkered in! I did buy some Brown rice syrup and hope to try some baking with it. Wonder if I could attempt some type of cinnamon roll? I’ll be looking for recipes 🙂

  6. Melissa says:

    I am surprised to say that I am not missing the sugar as much as the gluten stuff like pasta, bread and crackers (they also have sugar). I enjoyed day 1 workout the best. like the circut stuff and the challenge of seeing how many rounds that I could finish in the allotted time! I always enjoy lunges even the soreness that comes the day or 2 later, makes me feel stronger (like i accomplished something).

  7. Dorie says:

    I wish I could have gotten the workout in earlier in the day, but still this last one was my fave. Ha! None of these have been what or how I want to do it, but that’s good. I was really in a rut with my upper body routine. I stink at dips. Form is deplorable, but I got ‘er done and it feels good. I agree with Melissa, I like the feeling of soreness, at least to the degree I’ve experienced so far. It is AMAZING to me how fast a person can feel stronger.
    Today I bought a bag of 10¢ per # bananas and made 5 big loaves of banana bread. Two with chocolate chips by request of husband. Of course I want it, but it feels good to know I can enjoy doing it for my family without always partaking myself. Part of that too, is knowing I can have some later from the freezer and if not, it is still not the last time I’m ever gonna see banana bread, right! 🙂 I’ve lost 3 pounds. Even though I am really over eating on the things I CAN have. Had a ginormous salad at lunch. I was so full. I am aware that there is something wrong with the way I approach and think about food. So right now I want to think about portion control too, even went it is good foods.
    Anna, I cannot do those up, down, and kick back thingys from yesterday. Not at all. Don’t know if that comes up again if I should substitute something or sort of go through the motion like I did. Really couldn’t get much out of it.

    • AmWoods says:

      I understand those are burpees, and they are difficult. I would suggest doing them with a chair. Lean down put your hands on a chair, kick one foot back, then the other foot back to meet it, then bring one foot in and the other foot in…doing this as quickly as possible and make sure the chair’s anchored against a wall or table somewhere. I’ve had one slide out from under me before 🙂 …just a suggestion.

  8. jill says:

    I have to agree with Carisa, the push-ups were killer today! I liked the leg workout the best because I love doing circuits. I woke up feeling “off” this morning. Just groggy and kinda dizzy. Once the afternoon rolled around I felt much better. The first day of the challenge was the hardest nutrition day for me because I was at work and of course they had “snacks” out. I literally had to keep reminding myself that I couldn’t have the crackers or bread. It was tough but I survived!

  9. Lynette says:

    Well…I have to admit that I doubled up today on my workouts (before I read the blog!). Didn’t get around to it yesterday with a 2 hour dr. appt and sick kiddo. My favorite workout has been anything but the push-ups! I feel really good, actually (despite lack of sleep). The biggest thing for me is mental- knowing that I am doing what is best for my body. The hardest to give up for me right now is peanut butter and just finding healthy snacks. I have replaced those with snacks that I are maybe not the best choice, so finding another way that’s healthier is now my goal. I have found some bread recipes (since I”m not giving up wheat/gluten) to try that have honey as the sweetener and whole wheat. I think Braxton is having the hardest time…not getting the “dips” out at meals and having other ‘treats” afterwards. It’s been refreshing so far.

  10. Joy says:

    I like that all days have been short and sweet, but yesterday was probably my favorite. Looking forward to a day of rest tomorrow! I have craved sweets a little bit today, but not bad at all!

  11. Tracy says:

    I do NOT like the push-ups….never have, probably never will! But, the rest of the workouts are good. I am realizing how much dairy I actually eat in a day……I’m not really craving it, just trying to figure out what to eat. I am eating lots more protein and fruits and veggies, which I guess is good. I feel like this challenge is motivating me way more and makes me think more about what I am putting into my body.

Leave a Reply

