21-Day Challenge

3 Weeks to Improve your Energy Levels

Day 5

on January 13, 2012

So you rested yesterday, some of you may have felt great today and got out the door early, some may still be in bed.  But, I hope not!

This time of year always marks a time of ‘change’ for many people.  It’s new, fresh, and exciting and a great time to make declarations of goals for the upcoming months.  One at the top of everyone’s list is usually to improve one’s health through weight loss, strength gaining, better eating, faster running paces, etc.  The question is: What is the best way to do that?  And maintain it?

There are so many suggestions, scientific studies, testimonies, self-help, do-it-yourself, lose weight fast, never look back, renew your body ideas floating out there.  They probably all work.  They probably DON’T all work for everybody.

The only goal out there should be to progress.  It is something you can measure, be motivated by, and can be applied to any method.  You need to adapt and improve, if you are not, make a change.  If you are making progress, don’t make any changes.  It’s that simple.

Take this challenge for example, you are all at different abilities starting out.  But you can all make progress, right?  So, the first workout I prescribed…some of you probably weren’t able to finish, some of you might not have been able to do the lunges, some of you probably did it in a slower time than you would have liked…so now you have something to work toward.  Practice, practice, practice.  Make progress.  I bet by the third week, it will be easier.

Same thing with willpower and eating…you will have horrible sugar cravings those first few days.  You will want to succomb, but if you stick it out, you will get mentally stronger and able to resist the urge.  The cravings will begin to subside as the sugar dies off in your body and as you are empowered to overcome this habit.  See?  Progress.

That is what needs to be the motivating factor in your wellness goals for this year.  Make progress.  Little by little.  Be empowered and encouraged by the changes happening within you and outside of you.

What are you going to use to measure your progress over the next 3 weeks?

12 responses to “Day 5

  1. AmWoods says:

    My progress measurement is a tricky one for me. Honestly, I get obsessive about health and weight-related things very easily. I chose only to eliminate 1 food allergen from my diet for this challenge because I could have very easily eliminated all 3, then got really obsessed with it, and gotten very stressed about it. So…same with measuring my progress…I have gotten away from my scale for awhile, and have chosen to measure my progress by how I feel. I know I am getting really tired if I have trouble getting out of bed in the morning, b/c I’m an early riser, if my soreness from workouts carries over into more than 2 days, if I don’t have energy for my day, and if I am getting really irritable about small things. That’s going to be my measurement of progress, if I’m maintaining a healthy level of stress this next 3 weeks. I know it’s a weird one, but I know myself well enough and am becoming more in-tune with my body to realize less is more with me when it comes to measuring things!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Since I ate so much sugar before and never really exercised, I think progress for me is just sticking to the 21-day challenge. I usually raise my expectations so high that my goals are difficult to reach, and it gets stressful. So, for this challenge, I am just going to measure my progress in terms of how well I can adhere to the diet and exercise rules. So far, so good!

  3. Jessica says:

    I guess I am measuring my progress by how I am sticking to not eating sugar. This is going well besides the cravings that are still there…especially for diet Dr. Pepper. I have kind of slacked on the workouts especially on the days that I work. Since I work 12 hour days, I really don’t have any energy left to workout when I get home. If I wake up early to do them, I feel groggy and exhausted. So I am stuck trying to catch up on my days off.

  4. I am measuring my progress by keeping in mind that I truely need this challenge. Trying to stay focus. It is working for me. Usually after I get done eating I am always looking for something choc. or sweet to eat and yes I have been craving it but getting through it.

  5. Tracy says:

    I am measuring my progress by how I feel as well……when I worked out extra the other night, I felt better than when I just did the workouts that you gave us. I felt like I didn’t want to eat the “bad” stuff and take-away from what I just worked really hard doing. So, for me I already am feeling progress and hope I can just stick with it all!

    • AmWoods says:

      Haha, were you on the Elliptical? I think I could see you through our front window! That’s great! I work harder at eating less when I work out harder during the day.

  6. Carisa says:

    I did take measurements, so I’m going to try to focus more on that than what my scale says. I’m interested to know how I feel as this goes along too! I also have that obsessive gene, so I’m trying to be low key and focus on what good things I’m doing for my health.

  7. Krista says:

    For me, it is just being consistent with eliminating sugars and eating healthy. Also just doing the workouts when I don’t feel like it. It always makes me feel better. I am more concerned about after the 3 weeks. When I don’t have accountability I go back to bad habits. So what then?

  8. Melissa says:

    A goal of sign of progress for me is if I can stick to lower sugar and resist sweets more after this . I know goals need to be measurable so i guess i would say. still able to resist a choc chip cookie that is offered in 3mo! not sure if that makes sense but it does to me!!!!

  9. Joy says:

    I’m going to measure my success by how I feel and how my clothes fit. I’m already feeling like I have more energy!

Leave a Reply

