21-Day Challenge

3 Weeks to Improve your Energy Levels

Caffeine…

on January 16, 2012

Well, with a challenge focused on increasing energy, you know there will be a topic addressing caffeine.

Most people have a love/hate relationship with caffeine.  And so does our bodies.  If used effectively, like as a stimulant to increase energy before exercising, it can be useful.  If used to keep your eyes open at 10 pm at night to do last minute work, studies, etc. then it’s not so useful.  The kinds of caffeine are different too.

For instance, there are MANY conflicting reports on whether coffee is good for you or not.  My opinion is that is that if you are drinking straight black coffee with no sugar, cream, fillers…you are probably okay.  Limiting yourself to 1 cup might be even better.  We don’t want to have to rely on caffeine to keep us moving, we want our bodies to naturally get in a rhythm of producing energy.  So I am going to say that coffee and herbal tea are okay.

On the other hand…energy drinks are NOT.  There is nothing natural, effective, healthy, or good about these drinks.  They leave you with an unhealthy high of all high’s, and then drop you to the lowest of lows.  End of energy.  Plus they mess with your metabolism as well.  Remember I said that fat loss is a hormone response related to insulin…yeah, filling yourself with sugary drinks is going to prohibit any fat loss for at least 3-4 hours because your insulin levels will be through the roof.

So…let’s work to eliminate unnecessary caffeinated beverages as much as possible.  If you are going to indulge, try to drink them right before or right after a workout.  If coffee is a must, then plan to get up drink a cup and then workout and get your day started.  Limit your intake after that.

Share what your caffeine indulgence is and how you will plan to reduce your intake.

14 responses to “Caffeine…

  1. Carisa says:

    I had to cut caffeine about 10 years ago when I had an ulcer—so if any of you struggle with stomach issues, this could be a huge help! I only drink it once in awhile now: I don’t need it to get going.

    Side note: What a workout this morning! It was harder than I thought! 🙂

  2. Lindy says:

    Usually have a cup (big) of coffee in the morning..but since giving up sugar, the flavored creamers are out, and it is not nearly as enjoyable……..prefer hot tea with honey…Constant Comment is my go to tea. They have recently come out with a Green Constant Comment, still has caffeine in it, but good. We enjoy a cup of hot tea in the evenings…herbal or CC and always with honey in it.

    I agree on the difficulty of the workout! Never knew that lunges could make my heart beat sooo fast!!! Noted a lot of soreness in my hammier this am. From the bending over and picking up the weights, I guess. My arms are slightly sore, but not nearly as much as I thought they would be. Again, enjoyed the quiet time during recovery!

    • AmWoods says:

      Lindy, I think you are a day ahead, which is fine, just letting you know. The arm workout was supposed to be for today and the legs tomorrow. So feel free to take a day off tomorrow to wait for the rest of us to catch up! 🙂
      I like to have warm herbal tea at bedtime too, Bengal Spice is my favorite!! Took a liking to it while in Ukraine since everyone there drinks tea…yummm.

      • Lindy says:

        I wondered if I was off in days….but I tried to go back over the exercises to see where I screwed up and can’t figure it out……I took Thursday off, then Fridays email talked about weekend exercises..so I started that one on Friday. Were war supposed to take Friday off too? At any rate, you are right! Those arms exercises were KILLER!!! I am crippen around today like an old lady! Think I will do exercises tomorrow just to stay loose….I do have a massage tonite, thank goodness!!! Thanks for the help! lindy

  3. Jennifer says:

    The only caffine I had was in chocolate. But since I cut sugar, I have not had any. I do not drink soda, and I have been careful not to have too much caffine now that I am nursing. If I have coffee, it is a cappuccino with lots of milk and sugar. So, I have had to cut that as well. I think watching my caffine intake may be the easiest rule so far for me. 🙂

  4. Krista says:

    The only caffeine that I have is in chocolate on a regular basis. Once in a while I will have a pop but only if we are eating out which isn’t too regular. Getting ready to do the workout.

  5. Krista says:

    Anna, Are you trying to kill me? If I wasn’t so weak in my upper body….but I did make it! Gavin said, “Are you sweating Mommy?”

  6. Tracy says:

    I knew this day was coming, was trying to prepare myself and cut my pepsi…..that is my weakness! I have cut way back…..not even going to say how much I used to drink in a day!! I’ve been trying to just have 1 cup of black coffee in the morning for a little caffeine to get me going…..that seems to help.

  7. DJ says:

    I don’t drink caffeine as a whole. The only drink I might have it in is iced tea but I usually try to drink de-caf. I guess my caffeine comes through chocolate – a very big vice for me! I’m giving up soda because I’ve found that I seem to be allergic to whatever they have in the diet drinks (a sugar substitute maybe). I end up coughing like crazy and get all stuffed up.

  8. jill says:

    I don’t drink much caffeine. I do indulge with caramel fraps from Starbucks at least once a week (and please don’t tell me how many calories I’m intaking 🙂 LOL! I finally had time to catch up with the blog…..it was a busy weekend between feeling under the weather and working. Therefore I got all the exercises in but knew better than to push myself with cardio. I’m hoping I’ll get over this sinus infection soon so I can make up for the cardio later in the week. Nothing feels better than getting a good run in. Still doing good without wheat. I’ve found myself eating eggs for breakfast a lot now. Thinking about taking sugar out of the diet next week to see how much self control I really have. Will try to get up earlier than the boys to get my workout in the remainder of this week. I’ve always been a late night person sneakin into bed around midnight. So this will be a huge challenge for me!

  9. Brandi says:

    This part is easy for me. I cut caffeine many years ago due to my sensitivity to caffeine. I get terrible heart palpitations and it makes me very edgy. I have found something new. Welch’s has come out with a fizz drink the sugar replacement is stevia. It’s juice but like drinking a coke.

  10. Dorie says:

    Correct me if this is incorrect, but I have been doing some reading about chocolate because of some research some of our elementary students were doing. Chocolate does not actually contain caffeine. I will pull that up sometime and give you the skinny. It is maybe something in that ‘family’ that loosely gets labeled that way.. .I’ve got to read that again.
    Don’t drink coffee, and I try not to drink pop more than a couple times a week. Trying to cut it completely now. I like tea as well. Lindy, I enjoy that Green Constant Comment as well with honey.
    The workout this a.m. l feel in my chest and upper back. Nice. It was easy to do in the morning since we didn’t have school today.

  11. I am not really a pop drinker but if i do drink pop it is usually sprite or something caffenine free. vut some mornings i do drink coffee but I dont have to drink it every morning to get me going. So since I have started this challenge I havent had any coffee.

Leave a Reply

