21-Day Challenge

3 Weeks to Improve your Energy Levels

Weekend Workout

on January 20, 2012

This weekend you have the choice to do several workouts, you should receive these in your email inbox.  These will include cardiovascular workouts as well as a few endurance-type strength workouts.  I realize your legs and arms got a REALLY good workout this past week, as I amped up the intensity a bit (as you may have noticed).  By this 3rd week, we should be getting more in shape, and therefore I have to keep challenging you to be better.

Finding the perfect balance of exercise and rest is key to your energy levels.  Rarely do I meet a person who is over training through exercise, but often I meet a person who is overstressed by all that is on his/her plate in life.  So we have to think outside of our exercise and nutrition routine, of all the stressful factors contributing to our energy depletion.  These are just as crucial to our health and body as proper eating and exercise.  When we are overtaxed, our bodies take a toll…it can result in something called adrenal fatigue.  It is when our bodies can’t maintain proper homeostasis (balance), and systems begin to shutdown to preserve energy and keep the most important processes going strong.

I struggle with adrenal fatigue on a personal level.  For example, when we were trying to have Autum, I was at a serious level of adrenal fatigue.  My body was so tired, exhausted, and overworked, that my reproductive system shut down in order for the rest of my body to be able to sustain order.  Looking back now I can see it, and how it all occurred.  I was really cutting calories, training really hard, working too much, pushing pushing pushing.  I began to gain weight quickly, I got a lot of acne, I retained a LOT of water, I never could get over muscle soreness, my race performance lacked, I had no energy, was very moody, and craved sugar TERRIBLY.  All these are symptoms of chronic adrenal fatigue…my body couldn’t maintain it’s health to fight off illness and toxins.  So one by one my systems began to shut down to preserve energy.  Luckily, I got help before things got too far.  So I want to warn you as well, take a look at these symptoms below, check off the ones that effect you and determine if you are experiencing adrenal fatigue or are getting close.

If so, I tell you now, MAKE SOME CHANGES IN YOUR LIFE.  It is not worth going through this stress on your body and mind.  I am speaking from experience.  Just tweaking a few areas of your life can make BiG changes in helping you restore health and balance.

Here’s how your other symptoms might play out:

  • Morning fatigue. You don’t really seem to wake up until 10 a.m., even if you’ve been awake since 7 a.m.
  • Afternoon “low” (feelings of sleepiness or clouded thinking) from 2 to 4 p.m.
  • A burst of energy at 6 p.m. when you finally feel better from your afternoon lull
  • Sleepiness around 9p.m. to 10 p.m. However, you resist going to sleep
  • A “second wind” at 11 p.m. that lasts until about 1 a.m., when you finally do go to sleep
  • Cravings for foods high in salt and fats
  • Chronic low blood pressure, low body temp.
  • Sensitivity to cold and feeling chilled
  • Increased PMS or menopausal symptoms
  • Amenorrhea
  • Mild depression
  • Mood swings
  • Mental fog
  • Memory problems
  • Lack of energy and feeling rundown
  • A decreased ability to handle stress
  • A decreased ability to recover from illness
  • Muscular weakness
  • Increased food allergies
  • Lightheadedness when getting up from a sitting or lying down position
  • Decreased sex drive
  • Frequent sighing
  • Inability to handle foods high in potassium or carbohydrates unless they’re combined with fats and protein
  • You crave sugar
  • Acne
  • Weight gain/Water Retention
  • Kidney soreness
  • Infertility

Let me know what weekend workouts you will be choosing to do and when.

8 responses to “Weekend Workout

  1. DJ says:

    A lot of the above seems to be me — an accumulation of the stress from the job I had. Since I’ve quit working full time, my stress level has gone WAY down. So how long does it take for your body to get back to normal? Right now it seems like all I want to do is sleep and I have so much to do here at home. What can I do to help my body recover?

  2. Jennifer says:

    I will be starting the exercises today: 30 minutes of cardio, 60 tomorrow, and repeat a workout on Sunday.

    In terms of adrenal fatigue, I do have several of the symptoms above. In fact, I think I have had them for as long as I can remember. What does a person need to do fix it?

  3. AmWoods says:

    I actually just removed from my system what I could that was causing the MAJOR issues of stress. For me that was a reduced exercise regimen, cutting WAY back in work, actually giving up some things that I was good at and loved to do, knowing that as much simplicity as possible was what I needed at the time, etc. But for you that may be different. I started taking 1-2 multivitamins a day (especially when I was nursing, Jennifer)…I upped my flaxseed oil usage (sometimes up to 10 a day), I took zinc and magnesium daily for a few months, increased the fat I was eating (more oil, butter, etc.), cut processed food out as much as possible, tried to get to bed at a decent time, woke up early to do light exercise, NO caffeine. Found time in my day to sit and rest, even if it was only for 10-20 minutes. I tried to eat at the same time of day everyday. I actually tried to get some massage or acupuncture done for stress relief. I took my body temp regularly first thing in the morning for a few days in a row, I still do that when I feel my adrenals lagging, to see if my thyroid is functioning. If my temp is below 98 degrees, then I know my thyroid is running low and my adrenals are struggling. (that’s how it effects me, anyway, my thyroid shuts down first–for others it may be different)

  4. jill says:

    I have quite a few of those symptoms listed above, but I don’t feel like I’m stressed. I think mine has a lot to do with my hypothyroidism even though my level is WNL. I hate taking pills, but I might have to try a multivitamin to see if that will help. That’s interesting about taking temps to determine thyroid function. I plan on doing the cardio and then doing the 25-100 set of lunges. I was so sore from them but felt great after doing them.

  5. Joy says:

    I did 30 yesterday, 60 today, and tomorrow I’m going to do Day 1 again, then rest on Sunday.

  6. Melissa says:

    I definatly get worn down by stress. I don’t know if I have any of those symptoms per say but definatly need to simplify at times. My work can consume me at times if I let it. I also find my self over doing things that aren’t necessary. I really have refocused and tried to simplify over the past few months. I have continued to exercise but not as much or in the same way as I used to. trying to focus on nutrition more.
    I have had to learn to say no as well and just remind my self to keep things simple. After all, it IS OK to bring store bought cookies to events and it is OK if my house isn’t clean all the time! I am really looking forward to my next few weeks as my work schedule slows down and my hours cut back a bit. I am soooooooo ready to work part time again!
    I plan to do the 30-60min workouts Sat and Sunday and am getting ready to do one of the others now.

    • AmWoods says:

      Good for you! You have had a full load the past few months. Congrats on getting to slow down. I heard they hired another nurse practitioner. I’m sure your husband and kids will be glad to see you more and in a less stressed state–I get that!

  7. Lindy says:

    Did a 30 minute cardio workout yesterday, repeated the arm workout today….didn’t sweat nearly as much :), but the triceps pumps on the chair still kick my butt! I felt better after this workout than I did the last time I did it, tho. did ALOT more stretching out afterwards which helps too. I plan to rest tomorrow, may have to do some stretched, just to keep things loosened up, then do the 60 minute cardio on Sunday morning, as that is when Randy and I usually do our longer weekly run/walk. I love the early morning Sunday time….great praise and worship time outside before heading to church inside:) Have a great weekend, everyone! Thanks, Anna, for another good week!

Leave a Reply

