21-Day Challenge

3 Weeks to Improve your Energy Levels

Passion

on January 24, 2012

Okay, another overlooked energy booster is finding something you are passionate about and making it a part of your weekly routine.  We often fill our lives with obligations that stress us out, and we most often do not want to do, yet we do them anyway, just because.  SO my challenge is to eliminate all of the unnecessary obligations (or as many as possible), and replace them with one thing you are passionate about doing or being a part of.  This should be something you are energized by, that excites you, and gives you a feeling of worth.

For example, I am passionate about lots of things.  Running is something I enjoy and energizes me.  I try to do it 2-3 times a week, just for enjoyment.  I know, I know, some of you are shaking your head wondering how this can be a passion for a person, haha, but for me-it is.  I also enjoy painting, and quite honestly, I can’t remember the last time I got out a canvas and my oil paints.  That is something I hope to make a part of my regular routine again someday soon.  But for now, running will have to be my passion and energizer.Most recently, advocating for orphans has become a passion for me as well.  I get so much energy from hearing about all the children being saved by so many people’s efforts.

What are you passionate about?  Share with us what it is and how you are or plan to make it a part of your life this week and in the future.  Your energy depends on it.

11 responses to “Passion

  1. DJ says:

    I have lots of passions! Reading is one that I do constantly. Piano is another – now that I’m home during the day I can play without bothering anyone else. Oil painting is another that I haven’t done in a long time. Maybe I’ll do that today! 🙂

    • AmWoods says:

      I didn’t know you played the piano or painted…I love oil painting, probably because it’s so forgiving 🙂 I plan for that to be my escape again when the kids are a little older!

  2. DJ says:

    Just did the exercises for Tuesday (today). I did 27 pushups, 34 squats, 38 situps and 40 step ups.
    By the way Anna, do you know of a good nutrition book?

    • AmWoods says:

      Carisa is reading Sugar Nation right now and says it is awesome! I love Paleo DIet for Athletes…ummm let me go downstairs and look at my shelf…haven’t read a book in a while

      • Joy says:

        I am reading Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food right now. Not really a nutrition book, but it has been really good so far.

  3. Tracy says:

    I have a passion for creating things for myself and for others…..I love to scrapbook, do crafts and make jewelry. I think I will make some jewelry…..I’ve been wanting to try some new earring and ring designs, so will be making that a priority.

  4. Jennifer says:

    My passion is art. One of my Bachelor’s degrees is in art, but I have not been able to enjoy it for years. It is difficult to get enough time away to really be able to focus on a piece. I think I will give myself a couple hours “off” per week. During this time my only expectation of myself (other than taking care of the kids) will be to do something *I* enjoy. 🙂

  5. Carisa says:

    I think I have felt the best today of any day so far on the challenge. Yay!

    I love to teach and have actually been teaching others to knit (which I also love to do). It’s been great to feel like I’m helping people with a creative skill and one that can help them de-stress. It’s interesting to me that many of these comments center around creating. We were created to be creative beings, weren’t we?

    I’m also passionate about gluten related issues, which seems weird, but I love to research because it has made such a big difference for our family. More than that, I love to share what I’ve learned with people who are just starting out–which brings the teaching aspect back in.

  6. AmWoods says:

    I love how artistic everyone is…wonder how it’s all related? Sounds like more research, Carisa! 🙂

  7. Lynette says:

    I am passionate about people. I get a lot of energy from being with people and having meaningful conversations. I also enjoy organizing (odd I know), which has been more of a challenge with kids, finding time to organize what they disorganize!

    I got messed up on my days over the weekend, so I didn’t get a couple of workouts done 😦
    But…today I did 33 pushups, 50 squats, 50 crunches, 40 hops, and 45 jog ups. Short workout, but definitely got me breathing!

    Eating-wise…I have introduced dairy back into my diet as I am needing more calcium. And have been trying to do sugars with limits. Definitely harder for me than cutting it out entirely. I’ve also really noticed that I am a stress-induced eater. When the kids aren’t sleeping or I am overwhelmed…I eat. Still need to retrain my brain to go for the water instead!

  8. Melissa says:

    I am also passionate about running, but have had to let that take back seat recently due to the other more important passion in my life which is my 3 boys! (husband, and sons). I am passionate about spending time with them and with a complication of work and other issues in recent months there wasn;t time for both. Do get out at least 2 times per week but not as much as i used to. I also really love being creative and making things my self and doing projects with my kids! Things I make are not usually fancy or display worthy but love helping my kids get creative!!!! Nothing better than planning and completing a project with my kids! Also enjoy cooking and am looking forward to my new work schedule which will put me home in time to make dinner (real dinner) all but 2 nights per week!!!!!
    My workouts today went well. I did it 2 times through because I didn’t have time for another for another workout. my numbers were 39 push ups, 42 plies, 46 crunches, 51 hops. Very fun, am sticking with the workouts well. Wish that I could say my diet has been perfect but far from it!! No dairy except for occ cheese mixed in to stuff that I didn’t make. Definatly limiting sugar more than usual and no sweetener, but not eliminated. Was fairly strict with gluten, but added some back and think i just can’t go overboard on gluten but no big issue.

Leave a Reply

